Home | News & Events | Members | About LMAT | Member Login  

Livestock Marketing Association of Texas

Livestock Marketing Association of Texas (LMAT) is the sole trade group in the state of Texas representing over 115 member livestock auctions, livestock dealers, and order buyers.  LMAT has roots that date back to the early 1960s where it began as the Texas Livestock Markets Association.  In 1980, the membership voted to change the name to Livestock Marketing Association of Texas to encompass all livestock auctions, dealers and order buyers under one association.  In 1982, LMAT was registered and incorporated with the state of Texas and has since provided its membership with representation and policy development regarding legislative, regulatory, and industry issues. 

LMAT is under the guidance and leadership of a five member Executive Committee and an appointed Executive Director.  There are also ten Directors that are designated by geographic district and ten at-large positions that form a Board of Directors.  All of the positions, except the Executive Director, are held by LMAT members who have a thorough knowledge of the industry.  The association also maintains seven active committees to oversee and report on various detailed aspects of the livestock marketing sector.

LMAT maintains a presence in Austin, Texas to address all legislative and regulatory activity and to help develop public policy positions.  LMAT leadership and members also work closely with other state and national organizations to help maintain open relationships throughout the industry.  LMAT members also hold several key positions on the Texas Beef Council as well as several Texas Animal Health Commission working groups.  With support from our national organization, Livestock Marketing Association, we work with several state trade publications and media outlets to promote and advertise all efforts of our members.

While our membership is busy marketing over five million head of livestock annually, the goal of LMAT is to provide producers with an open marketplace where competitive bidding improves value.


Elected Directors

John Banker, El Campo
Billy Easter, Wichita Falls
Bob Eddington, Coleman
Bryan Forester, Athens
Keith Parrott, Amarillo
David Shelton, Gonzales
Bryan Uptmore, West

Lifetime Directors

Buddy Blackwell, Cuero
Mike Brzozowski, Gonzales
Randy Carson, Abilene
David Fowler, Sulphur Springs
Wayne Geistweidt, Frederickburg
Frank Helvey, Pearsall
Bill Hughes, Groesbeck
Ken Jordan, San Saba
Steven Lastovica, Milano
Ken Leiber, Fort Worth
Don McCandless, Floydada
Troy Moore, Stephenville
Burt Richards, Buffalo
Samuel Rodriguez, Jr., Rio Grande City
JD 'Bubba' Sartewelle, Sealy
Jim Schwertner, Schwertner
Adele Uptmore, West
David Winters, Del Rio

Committee Chairmen & Representatives

Texas Beef Council Representative
     Bryan Forester, Athens
Texas Beef Council At Large Representative
     Steven Lastovica, Milano
State Affairs Committee Chair
     Ken Jordan, San Saba
Dealer & Order Buyer Committee Chair
     Kenneth Leiber, Fort Worth
Dairy Cattle Committee Chair
     David Fowler, Sulphur Springs
Equine Committee Chair
     Troy Moore, Stephenville
Exotic Wildlife Committee Chair
     Tommy Oates, Huntsville
Sheep & Goat Committee Chair
     Wayne Geistweidt, Fredericksburg
Swine Committee Chair
     Benno Luensmann, Seguin

Click here to see Past Presidents